Nine primary races to watch in Anne Arundel County as ballot counting continues

July 26, 2022

Election workers will begin counting roughly 2,500 provisional ballots at 10 a.m. Wednesday, potentially moving the needle in Anne Arundel County primary races that remain too close to call.

In all, there are 8,020 outstanding ballots — 5,459 Democratic and 2,561 Republican. A final canvass is scheduled for 10 a.m., Friday. Following last week’s canvass of 13,683 mail-in ballots, Republican candidate for county executive Jessica Haire held a lead over Herb McMillan of about 1,100 votes.

While some primary races for statewide office have been called, including the Democratic and Republican nominations for governor (Wes Moore and Dan Cox, respectively), comptroller (Brooke Lierman and Barry Glassman, respectively) and attorney general (Anthony Brown and Michael Peroutka, respectively), others are still yet to be decided.

Here are a few races to keep an eye on:

County Executive - Republican:

Jessica Haire — 13,185 votes (43.5%)

Herb McMillan — 12,105 votes (39.9%)

John Grasso — 3,642 votes (12%)

Fernando Berra — 881 votes (2.9%)

Chris Jahn — 529 votes (1.7%)

County Council, District 4 - Republican:

Cheryl Renshaw — 884 votes (53.4%)

Thomas Wieland — 770 votes (46.6%)

County Council, District 4 - Democratic:

Julie Hummer — 2,259 votes (39.3%)

John C. Dove, Jr. — 2,203 votes (38.3%)

James R. Estepp — 904 votes (15.7%)

Ash Khan — 383 votes (6.7%)

County Council, District 7 - Republican:

Shannon Leadbetter — 2,348 votes (38.9%)

Dawn Pulliam — 1,884 votes (31.2%)

Cailey Locklair — 1,798 votes (29.8%)

Anne Arundel Sheriff - Republican:

Jim Fredericks — 16,882 votes (62.5%)

James H. McNeill — 4,879 votes (18.1%)

Warren Darlington Porter, Jr. — 3,103 votes (11.5%)

Joe Delimater — 2,160 votes (8%)

Judge of the Orphans’ Court - Republican:

Nancy Phelps — 17,322 votes (27.2%)

Maureen Carr-York — 13,992 votes (22%)

Tony McConkey — 12,177 votes (19.1%)

Alan Rzepkowski — 11,523 votes (18.1%)

Tom Angelis — 8,666 votes (13.

Judge of the Orphans’ Court - Democratic:

Vickie Gipson — 29,393 votes (35.8%)

David Duba — 26,451 votes (32.2%)

Marc Knapp — 26,336 votes (32%)

House of Delegates District 12B - Republican:

Ashley P. Arias — 402 votes (37.5%)

David R. Buchanan — 385 votes (35.9%)

Victor Henderson — 184 votes (17.1%)

Ronald A. Imbragulio, Sr. — 102 votes (9.5%)

House of Delegates District 12B - Democratic:

Gary Simmons — 698 votes (35.9%)

Daniel J. McGinty — 659 votes (33.9%)

Jeff Garcia — 585 votes (30.1%)

Other races

For the remaining state and federal races for Anne Arundel County seats, The Associated Press has projected winners who will now move on to the Nov. 8 general election.

Maryland Senate

District 12: Incumbent Democrat Clarence Lam will face Republican Bob Cockey for District 12..

District 30: Republican Stacie MacDonald will challenge incumbent Democrat Sarah Elfreth.

District 32: After County Council member Sarah Lacey, of Jessup, conceded her race to incumbent Democrat Pam Beidle last week, Beidle will face Republican challenger Kimberly Ann June who ran unopposed for the Republican nomination.

House of Delegates

District 31: Three Republican incumbents, Nicholaus Kipke, Brian Chisholm and Rachel Munoz have defeated their opponent, newcomer LaToya Nkongolo, and will face unopposed Democrats Kevin Burke and Milad Pooran.

District 32:Democratic incumbents Mark Chang, Sandy Bartlett and Mike Rogers bested their new challenger Dorcas Olasimibo Ajanlekoko and will face unopposed Republicans Michael Jette, Monica L. W. Smearman and Michele Speakman.

District 33A: Two-term County Council member Democrat Andrew C. Pruski, from Gambrills, defeated challengers Marguerite Morris and Michael Sopata and will run against unopposed Republican Kim Mills.

District 33B: Stuart Schmidt, a Republican, defeatedTyler Bailey and will face unopposed Democrat John Wakefield.

U.S. Congress

U.S. House of Representatives District 3: Democratic incumbent John Sarbanes bested Ben R. Beardsley and Jake Pretot in the primary. He will face Republican Yuripzy Morgan.

U.S. House of RepresentativesDistrict 5: House Leader Steny Hoyer, a Democrat, will compete against Republican Chris Palombi to represent District 5.

U.S. Senate: Democratic incumbent U.S. Sen. Chris Van Hollen defeated Michelle L. Smith in the primary. He fill face Republican Chris Chaffee, who bested a field of 10 candidates to win the nomination.

For complete election returns, go to

Paid for by Yuripzy Morgan for Congress | Copyright 2022